Fuel cards and fuel advances
Factoring companies with fuel cards: what the discounts and advances really look like
Fuel is the bill that can't wait for a broker to pay. Many factoring companies pair their service with a fuel card, and some let you draw a fuel advance on a load before it delivers. Here's what three factors publish about their programs, how advances get repaid, and the fine print that decides whether the discount is real.
Who qualifies for fuel advances and fuel credit
Qualification is usually tied to factoring with the same company, and fuel advances usually require a credit-approved broker and a signed rate con. A fuel card alone, without factoring, is often available too, but the credit line and advances are where factoring clients get the edge. Here's what each says on its own page.
- 01
RTS Financial
Fleet One card: credit lines up to $3,200 per truck, per week; a self-funded card for any credit score. RTS says it has a fuel card whether you have good credit or no credit.
- 02
Apex Capital
Fuel credit line starting at $2,500 with an Apex factoring agreement and Apex TCS card. The card is cash-secured: you fund it before you buy fuel.
- 03
Triumph
Up to 50% fuel advances to the fuel card (basis not stated on the page). The card is subject to approval; the page doesn't list other requirements.
Pages checked 2026-10. Programs change often, so confirm the current terms in writing before you rely on them.
Fuel card comparison: three factors' programs on one card
Pick a program to see what that company publishes: network, claimed average discount and its basis, fees and credit. Slide in your weekly gallons to see what the claimed average would mean for you. Those averages are company claims across their clients, not a promise.
A truck running about 2,500 miles a week at 6 mpg burns about 415 gallons (EXAMPLE). Dump and mixer trucks also burn fuel idling at the pit or loader; count those gallons too.
- CARD
- NETWORK
- CLAIMED AVG DISCOUNT
- BASIS
- FEES
- CREDIT
- FUEL ADVANCE
- AT THE CLAIMED AVG
- +$203/week · +$10,125/year (50 wks)
Source: rtsinc.com, checked 2026-10. A company's average across its clients, not a quote; your discount depends on where you fuel.
How a fuel advance is repaid: an EXAMPLE load
A fuel advance is money on a load before delivery, usually against the signed rate con. It isn't extra money; it's part of the same invoice, paid early. EXAMPLE: a $3,200 load, a 30% fuel advance at pickup, a 90% total advance and an EXAMPLE 3% fee.
| Step | Amount | When |
|---|---|---|
| Fuel advance at pickup (30%) | +$960 | At pickup, to the fuel card |
| Rest of the advance (90% total, minus the fuel advance) | +$1,920 | After delivery and upload |
| Reserve held (10%) | $320 | Until the broker pays |
| Factoring fee (3% EXAMPLE) | -$96 | From the reserve |
| Reserve released | +$224 | After the broker pays |
| Total to you | $3,104 | Three payments |
Some programs charge a separate fee for the fuel advance, or limit it to certain brokers. Ask how yours is priced.
Fuel advance limits, as published
- 01
Triumph
Says up to 50% fuel advances to the fuel card (basis not stated on the page).
- 02
RTS Financial
The fuel card page lists credit lines up to $3,200 per truck, per week on the Fleet One card, rather than a per-load advance.
- 03
Apex Capital
Lists a fuel credit line starting at $2,500 for factoring clients, on a cash-secured card.
- 04
Everyone else
Many factors set the limit per load as a share of the rate con, and only on credit-approved brokers. Ask for the percentage, the fee and the cut-off time.
How fuel card discounts work, and what to check
Fuel card discounts come in a few shapes: a fixed cents-per-gallon off the pump price, a price based on the station's cost plus a margin, or a discount off a published retail average. Most only apply inside the card's network, so a card with a big average discount saves you nothing at a stop it doesn't cover.
Before you pick a card, check five things: which chains are in network on your lanes, whether the discount is off the pump price or a different benchmark, what you pay out of network, any card or transaction fees, and whether the card controls let you limit fuel-only purchases for drivers. Then compare the claimed average with your own receipts after a month.
Dump trucks and other vocational trucks burn fuel idling at the pit, the loader or the job site. Those gallons count toward your discount too, as long as you fill up in network.
Less deadhead burns less fuel than any discount saves
No setup fee. Month-to-month. No haul, no pay.
EXAMPLE week
Example- Gross
- $5,600
- Fee 5%
- -$280
- You keep
- +$5,320
Fuel card and fuel advance questions
How do fuel card discounts work?
The card takes money off the price at participating stations, either a set amount per gallon or a price based on the station's cost. Discounts usually apply only in network. Published averages, like the ones above, are across a company's clients; your savings depend on where you fuel and how much.
Are fuel advances paid before pickup?
Usually at or after pickup, once you have a signed rate con and the factor has approved the broker. Some programs load the advance to a fuel card; others send it by transfer. Ask your factor for its cut-off times, so you aren't waiting at the pump.
How much of a load can I get as a fuel advance?
It depends on the factor. Triumph says up to 50% fuel advances to its card. Others set a smaller share of the rate con or offer a weekly fuel credit line instead. The advance is part of the same invoice, so it reduces what you receive after delivery.
Do factoring companies offer fuel cards?
Many do. RTS Financial, Apex Capital and Triumph all describe fuel card programs on their own sites, with different networks, discount claims and credit terms. Compare them on your lanes, not on the headline cents-per-gallon.
We refer carriers to RTS Financial and may be paid for referrals. It doesn't change your rate. Disclosure. More in owner-operator factoring and freight factoring.
Ask about fuel with your factoring quote
Referral to RTS Financial. We may be paid for referrals.